Some people opine that the use of cell phones in public places such as libraries, shops and public vehicles should be prohibited as it causes great annoyance to other people. Personally, I disagree with this point of view as I believe that with proper use, mobiles are still helpful.

Some people opine that the use of cell phones in public places such as libraries, shops and public vehicles should be prohibited as it causes great annoyance to other people. Personally, I disagree with this point of view as I believe that with proper use, mobiles are still helpful. On the one hand, it is true that mobile phones can be intrusive in public areas. For example, in places like libraries, where people are supposed to keep silent and concentrate on their books or reading materials, a mobile ringtone or a phone conversation can totally divert their attention, thereby disrupting the ideal work environment. Besides, mobile phones can be used to take photos of other people without their permission. On public means of transport like a bus, for instance, one can easily snap a photo of others without them even knowing. This not only invades their personal privacy but can also lead to potential risks, such as someone’s pictures being sold for commercial purposes or even other negative intentions. On the other hand, despite the aforementioned disadvantages, mobile phones are useful in a number of ways. First and foremost, these devices are not necessarily synonymous with irritation since they can easily be turned into silent or vibrate mode. Furthermore, they are a real help in many adverse circumstances in public places. In case of emergencies, for example a road accident, residents will have certain difficulties calling for the ambulance without phones. Additionally, when connected to the Internet via WiFi or 3G, these technological gadgets are a cheap source of entertainment on the move, comforting people on tedious journeys or in anxious situations. Therefore, a ban on mobile phones will deprive people of the undeniable benefits these devices provide. In conclusion, although mobile phones may cause disturbance for the public, I maintain that they are advantageous if used properly.