Some people like to buy books to read, others like to borrow books from libraries or from other people. Compare the advantages of these two ways of reading. Which do you prefer? Why?

The issue of whether we should either borrow books from libraries or buy new ones triggered instance debate because both of them have their positive and negative sides. However, I would prefer to borrow books for several reasons which I will develop in the subsequent essay. Firstly, in the twenty-first century, the human population faced a serious problem connected with global pollution and deforestation. Buying paper products such as books and pockets only contributes to further degradation of our planet, consequently we need to stop buying them and use pre-owned. Moreover, when we buy a book we will not use it continuously, thus after several weeks of reading it will lay in a shelf for years. For instance, my grandmother at a young age really loved to read books and she preferred to buy new ones. After keeping them for years, her apartment converted in a library, where each corner all shelves and closets were overloaded by books. The saddest thing in this story is that after reading each book she never took it again and all of them converted in a garbage that bothered her. Ultimately, she tried to give them in library, but is was full, there for she was forced to throw them away even though books were in a great condition. In a result, if you really read a lot and need a huge number of books, you should certainly borrow it, otherwise after years it will become trash. Secondly, by borrowing books from either libraries or people we know, we can save a great amount of money, which we can spent on something precious. Furthermore, even if books which we borrow might be old or not at the best condition, is still advantageous thing, for the reason that old paper with a specific tone can create a special atmosphere while you read. For instance, a few months ago I borrowed from library a book called “War and peace” which is written a few centuries ago. This book was printed in late 70’s of last century, thus its looked really old and paged had a specific odor of old book. Consequently, due to this special features of this book helped me to completely submerged in atmosphere of that period of time and relive some scenes. In the result, borrowing book we can not only save money, but also in some cases to feel an atmosphere of a novel. To conclude, I strongly believe that it is better to borrow book either from library or from other people, because in this way we can somehow prevent global pollution and logging. Also, sometimes pre-owned books can help us to immerse yourself in the plot of a book.