Some people feel the positive aspects of television are more important than the negative aspects. To what extent do you agree

The effect of television in our society is debatable, and as such, some Individuals believe that the good characteristics of television are more beneficial than its detrimental side. I strongly disagree with this view for a number of reasons. To begin with, television delays the time needed to achieve one’s goals. Television features numerous programs as well as series that are continuous and last for hours. These programs are tremendously entertaining, making individuals addicted and clued to their television set, thereby, inhibiting or delaying them from achieving their set task. For instant, my younger sister watches soap opera on television from 8am to 6pm daily, and takes her morning bath by 6: 10pm. It is therefore evident that television delays task achievement. In addition, programs aired on television promotes inappropriate dressing. Most shows aired on television screens portray half naked dressing as normal by showing various celebrities indecently dressed in public. These celebrities are mentors to millions of people, especially the youth, who automatically think it is the right way to dress, thereby imitating them, resulting in increase rate of indecency. To illustrate, my 18years old neighbour bought a mini skirt similar to the one wore by Rita Dominic in a movie we bought watched on TV. This goes to show that television is harmful because it increases indecent act. In conclusion, I completely disagree that the useful side of television is more important than its adverse effect because it extends the time needed to complete task and promote indecency.