Advertisements spoil our enjoyment of today’s entertainment.’ ‘I think the adverts are often more enjoyable than the programmes they interrupt.’ Discuss both statements and give your own opinion.

Adverts are becoming popular nowadays. Some would argue that entertainment programmes are disrupted by the advertisements, while others opine that commercials provide more joy than those programmes. In my opinion, advertisements are really spoiling the fun rather than entertaining and this essay will analyse both the sides, including my view. On the one hand, advertisements are thought to be interfering the continuity of entertaining shows. Due to its particularly lengthy duration, people may often find it irritating and boring. If such commercials persisted in between the interesting programmes they watch, viewers would eventually switch channels in order to deviate from that. This might result in not watching the specific shows fully, which they wanted to watch and end up being frustrated. Therefore, because of this reason, few consider adverts as a spoiler of their happiness. On the other hand, a specific group of society enjoy the advertisements more when compared to the entertaining shows. One possible reason would be, the concepts which are included in the commercials, especially ones that are relatable to people’s career. For instance, if an aspiring football player watches an advert regarding football equipments promoted by a well-known football player, he/she will find it the most interesting and feel ecstatic on seeing the choice of his/her favourite player. Thus, some consider adverts as triggering happiness. In conclusion, considering the above two discussions, I believe that the number of commercials that annoy surpass those that are enjoyable. And this is the reason why, people, nowadays, are preferring over the top platforms, where one could access premium membership which has no advertisements. Although few people are interested in watching adverts, most prefer advert-free programmes