Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, computer technology has become a prominent aspect in our day to day life. The impacts of the computers are enormous in both positive and negative way. The dominance of it over all fields such as household, free-time and job activities is increasing nowadays. This essay will discuss that merits of technology surpass its demerits, by helping humans in all possible ways. On the one hand, technological advances provide immense benefits to the society. One such advantage is, communication field has developed significantly that one can able to contact the distant places. This on a large scale, governments of different countries are collaborating more and results in global trade advancement, helping the growth of the economy. In addition, computerisation made everything easy to access and reduced the burden of workforce. For example, many complicated surgeries, which were once never done, are successful with the assistance of robotics and advanced techniques. Thus, computerised system being prevalent in all areas improved the lifestyle of people in all aspects. On the other hand, some negative impacts of computers are inevitable. The main drawback would be the effects on health, as people rely on technical support to do simpler tasks at home. Vacuum cleaners, for instance, made the sweeping job easier and this is a boon for homemakers. This development, however, results in people following sedentary life, which eventually creates health issues such as obesity, diabetes and high cholesterol. Another disadvantage might be the unemployment risk due to the replacement of employees with computers in the companies. For example, many lose jobs, as a machine can manage the work done by numerous workers, in the heavy industries In conclusion, although computerisation has considerable cons, these problems can be rectified by appropriate measures including involving in physical activities in leisure time and learning technical related courses for job prospects. Thus, computers help the people in every aspect of life and it outweighs its demerits.