Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit.

There are two different opinions about government's regulation to construction, particularly design of buildings in major cities. Some people support this regulation, while others think that design should be defined by companies, which provide funding. This essay will analyze both points of view and provide evidence that government should control design of new buildings. Government regulation of design in big cities is the common practice around the world. It helps to keep architectural balance with the existing and future buildings, usually it should comply to general plane of city, which plans future image of city for years ahead. Separate project initiators don't have a entire vision to a city. Furthermore, this control helps to maintain safety issues (particularly in seismic zones, or close to oceans), because some of it can be prevented on design phase, before start of construction. However, some people think that design of a building should be free and defined by initiators of projects, who finance it. Their main point is that government regulation affects design to negative side. Additional interventions can change project significantly, and it takes time, therefore cost of construction can increase. For example, in Kazakhstan government regulation in this sphere had cause of corruption, when company owners pay illegal money to government employees to support projects. In my opinion, government should regulate this sphere. Without its control it is harder to make big cities comfortable and convenient, usually local governments have a vision of city's development for future, and this regulation helps to reject projects that do not comply with city's architecture.