Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Whether or not the design of new buildings should be controlled by the government is increasingly becoming controversial. Some people believe that that kind of buildings should be under national governance, while others feel that it should be controlled by the organization that owns the finance. This essay will discuss why it is appropriate to give the major control to the financial owner provided that certain government regulations are in check. The government should be the body that has control over the design of buildings that are constructed in the nation. Since each building plays a pivotal role in safeguarding the nation's culture and traditional identity. For instance, the Spanish government has full authority over the design and architecture of all the constructions in the city of Barcelona. This is sole because Barcelona is one of the popular heritage centers in the world. As a result, the government ensures that the architectural design of all the buildings remains uniform throughout the city. Besides that, the government wants to ensure that no building design violates the national rules and regulations. Thus, the government must play a vital role in regulating the design of buildings. Generally, private organizations usually hold control over finalizing the building design. This is because they want to construct the buildings in such a way it aligns with their commercial requirement. Along with it, as they are the ones who are providing the finance for the construction, they should bear the sole authority over the architecture and design. The design of most of the buildings and sky-scrapers in India are under the influence of private organizations with very minimal government interference. Since these buildings are the source of tax, the government must let the organization take control. Hence, organizations that bear the financial provision for the construction should hold the authority over the design. Some believe the design of newly constructed buildings should be under the supervision of the government whereas others feel those who bear the financial cost should have control over the design. This essay discussed that it is important enough for the government to supervise the design, but the cost bearers should hold the superior authority. In my opinion, the design of newly constructed buildings should be under the control of cost bearers with minimal supervision from the government.