Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit.

Many people believe that governments should control the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities while others think that the right to freedom of design should be granted to those who finance the construction of a building. I personally think that it would be better if the design of the building is to be decided by their financial owner. On the one hand, if someone buy a building, then that building will be their private property, thus the appearance of the building should be decide by its owner. People will not live in a house if they do not feel comfortable. Furthermore, people can design their building into an office or a store in order to serve their business and grant profit. One the other hand, I do believe that governments should monitor the designing and building process of a construction to some extent. For example, if someone want to build a house, an apartment or an office. Then that building must satisfy several regulation regarding safety and its economical effect. If a building does not follow neccessary regulations then the goverment will not allow the construction to begin. Moreover, if a building is used for shady business, or to perform illegal activities, then that building will be shut down by the goverment in order to maintain peace and order in society. To sum up, I personally believe that the design of newly constructed building should be decided by its owner, instead of the governments as the building is their property and they should be able to use their building for their own purpose as long as it is not illegal.