Each year the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

Every passing year the number of crimes increses for a great number of reasons. Firstly, this essay will discuss the main cause of the problem and secondly will give suggestions on how to decrease it. On the one hand, the main reason of offences is illiteracy people that commit crimes more frequently. Daily life is harder for people with low literacy since their employment histories consisted of mostly low wage jobs with frequent periods of unemployment. A person who cannot supply his family with basic daily needs such as housing, food stamps, medical care feels isolated and dissatisfied. As a matter of illiteracy they are less likely to get involved in community activities like sports, social groups and sees crimes such as shoplifting, automobile theft, burglary, robbery as the only solution without thinking the end. For example, statistics shows that 79 of 100 inmates entering canadian state prisons do not have a high school diploma, 60% of them even do not write or read. On the other hand, the most practical solution to this problem is a government-sponsored awareness compaign. These literacy compaigns can provide many youth and adults with a chance to build a brighter future as well as giving young people at risk of delinquency the skills they need to find jobs and escape from poverty. Especially these programs will give inmates the skills to get steady jobs when they are released, which reduces their chances of re-offending. When returning to their communities with a more positive self image they will proud of what they have achieved and self -esteem helps them avoid one of the main causes of criminal activity-unemployment. For instance, in a USA study, getting a college degree in prison reduced recidivism by 100 %. In conclusion, all the people including young people, adult or prisoners should be encouraged to take part in literacy trainings in order to prevent the increasing amount of crime.