Some people feel that crime can be reduced by increasing police numbers while others believe that social upliftment, such as better education and housing, will bring crime rates down. What are your views?

Nowadays, crime rates are progressively increasing, and research estimates shows that it increases more and more. But what is the main solution for this? Is it to recruit a larger number of policemen or to uplift the social level of the societies? A number people claim that the optimal solution is to increase the workforce of the police, however, I personally feel that the social upliftment is the cornerstone here. In this essay, I will discuss my viewpoint, and support it with relevant examples. Many people believe in the power of the authority like the police power, and they feel that the recruitment of more personnel to work for the police would positively affect the crime rates. They may have a point here for several reasons. First, they claim that having a larger number of policemen would create a better control on the community. Secondly, they argue that this would create a sense of threat for the criminals; decreasing the crime rates. However, these arguments ignored that in many countries like Egypt, the number of policemen is dramatically increasing with a non-corresponding decrease in the crime rates; raising concerns about the above-mentioned postulation. I personally believe more in the second suggestion, suggesting to improve the general condition of the society to gain better results with the declination in the crime rates. This can be convincing for me for several reasons. Initially, improving the educational and financial situation would significantly improve the psychological and mental condition of the criminals; affecting the desire for deviation positively. Furthermore, if the murder/thief has a good housing and stable family condition, this would probably deviate his mind away from criminals; avoiding loosing what he already has. A perfect example for this was the age of Omar Ibn Abdelaziz, as the crime rates were almost zero due to the significant improvement the society witnessed, that the history classified this age as a golden one. In conclusion, however some people may argue that the crime rates would decline through the increase in the number of police officers, I do believe that the excellent solution here is in the development of the societies at all levels. Therefore, steps have to be taken to raise the quality of life in the communities; minimizing the crime rates, and having a better, more peaceful and more secure place to live in.