Some people feel products should be made to last longer, while others feel it should just be as cheap as possible. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. `

It is believed that companies should design the products which can be used for long term. However, other considers that the products should be made as cheaper as they can. In my view, companies should build those products which are durable in quality as the initial high cost of purchasing them can be balance in long period of its’ usage. On the one hand, supporters of cheap products argue that affordability should be taken into account when manufacturing products. As people have low household income with limited budget for spending on essential items. So often they cannot buy high value goods. As a result, many are deprived of the luxuries items. Another point of view is that some products are made for disposable. As their usage life is limited, therefore, making them expensive do not create value for the buyers. Take razor blades as an example, they are often crated for single use but due to a bit high cost, people often use it for more than once which may become hazardous for its’ users. Therefore, products need to be build affordable. Conversely, advocates of durable products opine that products ought to be design for its’ long duration usage. As people often look for products which they can use for many years. Besides this they believe that the initial cost of buying the inventory can accommodate, if used for long period. For instance, if an electronic machine cost five hundred dollars, but has maintenance and replacing warranty for almost ten years as compare to a product which cost hundred dollars but has one-year useful life will eventually cost higher. Moreover, such products may often need their parts to replace or repaired after certain years. consequently, buying them become hectic for the users. The second reason of why they prefer to buy resilient products is that they can relate those products to their reputation. Buying such products give them inner satisfaction and often they share this as a matter of prestige with their friends and family. As a result, buying those high value goods becomes a win-win situation for the buyers. In conclusion, although one school of thought hold the opinion that products should be made with price as their utmost consideration in order to cater every individual. But, in my opinion, products ought to be design in way so the people can use it for many years.