Some people consider the advantages of living in a large city outweigh the disadvantages.

Modern London can lay claim to being the most diverse city ever. Never have so many different kinds of people tried living together in the same place before. What some people see as the great experiment of multiculturalism will triumph or fail here. Altogether, more than 300 languages are spoken by the people of London, and the city has at least 50 non-indigenous communities with populations of 10, 000 or more. Virtually every race, nation, culture and religion in the world can claim at least a handful of Londoners. Yet life in the capital is hardly one great coffee-coloured carnival. Few lofty social ideals can be observed in Victoria station at 8am. Indeed, Londoners are notable for their lack of warmth. Their city is a place of business; they have the fewest public holidays in Europe and work by far the longest hours. On the whole, people come to London for the money. But money is not why they stay.