Some people consider price as the most important thing to consider when buying a product such as a cell phone and services like medical treatment.

Price is the first thing that many people consider when purchasing a product or service. While I do admit that it is essential to spend our money wisely, I believe that money should not always be the chief consideration. Price ought to be considered because it is indeed necessary to control our spending to avoid falling into the debt trap. In other words, before buying a product or service, we should identify whether it is a necessity or something optional. Even if it is a necessity, we should look at the price tag before placing the order. Sometimes it is possible that two products serving the exact same purpose are sold at different price tags. For example, a Samsung phone serves more or less the same purpose as an iPhone; yet there are countless people who spend inordinate amounts of money on the latter just because they are fascinated by that brand name. Such spending is never recommended, especially since it will land the buyer in serious debt. Therefore, however tempting it may look a consumer must not buy a luxury item on credit. By contrast, there are situations when price tags must be ignored completely. Health and medical related services and expenses fall into this category. The amount of money spent should never be a priority in these circumstances, as any delay in availing of the service may lead to a life-threatening situation. Furthermore, in the event that the required amount is more than what the patient could afford, they should still proceed by borrowing money from a friend or obtaining a loan. However, such situations are rare and in most cases price ought to be considered so that excessive spending is budgeted and debt is avoided. In conclusion, people should be careful about spending large sums of money on goods and services, unless it is a matter of life and death.