Some people claim that the media has a negative influence on contemporary society. They think that there is very little tolerance for new ideas because of its impact. with this opinion?

In today' s world, the media is becoming an increasingly influential force. Some people find such development undesirable, as they believe the impact of the media to be entirely negative and unwelcoming of new ideas. However, I disagree with this view. With the following essay, I will elaborate on the reasons supporting my point of view. To begin with, the media fosters tolerance for radically different ways of thinking. The media, in its multitude of forms, provides a gateway for people to learn more about the world around them. Nowadays, everyone is only a handful of mouse clicks or button pushes away from being exposed to verified information about different cultures across the globe. For instance, the emergence of movie rental and video streaming services, such as YouTube or Netflix, has facilitated people' s access to a wide range of high-quality movies and documentaries. Likewise, online music stores and on-demand music streaming services have helped people listen to music from cultures around the world. Therefore, people can learn how their fellow men from distant lands think and perceive the world, creating a more tolerant and diverse society. On top of that, the media can catalyze new and unique trends in society, thus diversifying our culture. The media helps deliver art, music, and other slices of culture to brand new audience sectors. When the newly-exposed audience incorporate these initially foreign ideas into their identity, they will help produce and foster innovative and modern insights and personalities. A notable example of this phenomenon is the cultural exchange between Japanese and American teenagers. Japanese teens have chosen American fashion trends that suit them, melding it with their pre-existing Japanese style in order to create the world-renowned Japanese street style. Conversely, an increasing number of American teens are consuming Japan-made media, such as anime or manga, and afterwards adapting certain ideas and life attitudes of the Japanese people. To sum up, the media increases people' s knowledge of the world and tolerance towards differences in world view, and well as diversifies different cultures. For these reasons, I do not think that the media has a negative influence, nor is it unreceptive to new ideas.