Some people choose to eat no meat or fish. They believe that this is not only better for their own health but also benefits the world as a whole. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

It is indeed proven that nowadays an increasing number of people are adopting a vegetarian lifestyle, with no meat or fish in their diet, not only to improve their health but also for benefitting the world as a whole. There are several reasons for individuals to choose a vegetarian lifestyle, the first one as noted before is for health reasons, because many studies have demonstrated that following such habits help reducing risks of disease, such as cardiovascular problems, besides, some researches have stated that there are high chances to live a long life. Secondly, for ethical and moral reasons the majority of the vegetarians do choose to follow this kind of lifestyle to protest against animal exploitation, cruelty and also to preserve endangered species. Although it is indeed a very noble cause to fight for, deciding to avoid eating meat or fish has its consequences, such as nutrient deficiencies and an unhealthy diet. A vegetarian lifestyle is not made for everyone because some nutrients and proteins that can be found only in fish and meat; not to mention that such habits can cause hair loss and mood instability. However, the main issue, in my opinion, is the way we include meat and fish in our diet, people who consume a large amount of meat, for example, are more likely to develop heart disease and high levels of cholesterol. In conclusion, a vegetarian lifestyle is certainly a very healthy and ethic way of living but including meat and fish on the diet can cause a large difference for our well- being.