Some people believe the purpose of education should be helping the individual to become useful for society, while others believe it should help individuals to achieve their ambitions.

Education has a vital role in building a nation. While there are number of people who argues that education serves as a tool to help an individual become useful in a society, others believe that education’s main purpose is to guide people to reach their dreams. In my opinion, both sides are equally true in serving education’s main purpose. People in all walks of life understand the value of education, and how it can help a person to have a better life. At a young age, children go to school to teach them about the importance of education and how it can help them achieve their dreams. For example, while I was growing up, my parents would always tell me to study hard so that I can be whatever I want to be. When I hear those phrases as a child, it made me realise that the main purpose of education is to help me be successful in life, otherwise I will not earn good money. Furthermore, underprivileged people want to finish their studies as they believe that education will help them get out of poverty and give their family a better life. Conversely, education is also helping individuals to be a valuable asset of the society. if a person is educated, he/she will be able to find a good job, and through his job, he can be able to contribute to the society. To illustrate, all blue- and white-collar professions require a level of education to be able to qualify. A doctor’s main contribution to the society is to aid those who are sick and less privileged, and in order for him to do that, he needs a medicine degree to be a licensed doctor. Likewise, In conclusion, the main purpose of education serves both the individual and society. When a person is able to achieve his/her dreams, he/she will also be able to contribute to the economy making him/her a useful citizen of the society