Some people believe the purpose of education should be helping the individual to become useful for society, while others believe it should help individuals to achieve their ambitions.

While some people think that the main aim of education is to make children effective members for the population of a country in the future, others tend to believe that education is aimed at satisfying people’s desires to be the leaders or competitive individuals. This essay discusses both sides of the argument and then I will give my own perspective. On the one hand, many people argue that the educational system should prepare children to become valuable members of society. This is because people are known to absorb and acquire any new information very easily and quickly during their childhood. Therefore, in order to raise the ethical and cultural level of the population, it would be more convenient and better to instil these qualities in the younger generation at school. For example, my nephew John, who was provided with many lessons on charity and helping unfortunate people during his study at school, has become a member or charity organization supporting senior citizens. On the other hand, there are those who advocate the point of view that schools should help people to attain their own aims. Being a leader is known to be one of the main personal skills, which may affect people in a positive way. Had people been educated at school how to surpass their peers, they could become competitive enough on the job market. For instance, in Russia, many private schools have become very popular among affluent members of society since their curriculum is aimed at raising decision-makers and leaders. In conclusion, I think the both sides of the argument have their merits. On balance, however, I am convinced that education should pay more attention to making children decent and helpful members of society since the society is a huge group of individuals who cannot exist successfully without the mutual support.