Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that hosting an international sports event such as the Olympics could be beneficial for the country, while others say it has many problems. This essay will discuss both views, showcasing arguments for both sides, then it illustrates the personal opinion. International sports events spikes the number of tourists in a country, therefore it causes an increased demand for goods and services in the hosting area. Having more people, many of whom spend a lot of many money on hotels, restaurants, travelling et cetera, increases the revenue, which is great for the economy in many ways. Directly, it is great for local shop owners due to increased demand and indirectly it is great for everyone in the country, because the increased revenue means more taxes being paid. This increased amount of taxes could be spent on the welfare of the country. On the other hand, these events can cause economical harm, because of the set facilities that must be present during this event, consequently later they might not be used. This means that a country must build facilities such as arenas or swimming pools with large attendee capabilities. For example in 2016, Rio de Janeiro held the Olympics and the city had to build these facilities, however since then, these have not been used. They cannot bare the maintainance cost, because of the obvious decline in demand, therefore these buildings cannot serve the local public. In conclusion, I think that meanwhile in the short-term such events cause an overall positive effect for the hosting country, these investments for such events should also help in the long-term. In my opinion only those countries should hold such huge events, that already have a myriad of sport facilities or in the long run, can bare the crucial cost of maintaining these buildings.