Some people believe the purpose of education should be helping the individual to become useful for society, while others believe it should help individuals to achieve their ambitions.

Some people are of the thought that the role of education is to create a person who can be valuable to the whole human race, and some believe that real role of education is to enhance a person, such that all his/her goals are met. Both the statements have equal value, and have equal benefits as well. And both the views along with my opinion are stated in the following discussion. According to the former view, the purpose of educating a person and making the person capable enough so that he can contribute to the society, and make society a better place to live. Nowadays, there is a serious need of such people who can contribute to the surrounding using their literate minds. For instance, there are highly educated people like scientist, politicians, who plays a significant role in enhancing the world. However, the view of educating an individual so that his/her ambitions are achieved, is also as valuable as the former. Since, a real goal is to achieve your ambitions, so educating a person, and making that individual capable enough to reach his/her goals in life. For example, there were several leaders and famous people whose goal in life was to bring a change in the society. Although, in my opinion education’s real purpose is to train an individual in such a way that he/she develops the ability to judge what is beneficial to him/her and what is beneficial to the human race. Then only that person should be called literate. To cap it all, the purpose of education is fulfilled when the person is worth to himself as well as worth to the society.