Many students are now refusing to choose science subjects at their university level. Why do you think this is happening and what is the impact on the community?

To date, as the majors associated with science are no longer the top option among college students, an increasing number of pupils have more preference for other fields. As a result, there are some consequences can be caused by this development. Here, I would like to explore its reasons and the possible impacts. To start with, the majority of undergraduates of science must dedicate lots of time to accomplish their research in order to attain the degree as the competitiveness is extremely higher than the other fields. In other words, they might unable to involve themselves on socializing and amusement activities as much as others. For instance, many learners apply their spare time on running the experiment and writing the theory while other peers are taking part parties or extracurricular. Consequently, opting science as the main subject may let them lose the chance of enjoying the freedom and exhilaration that brought by campus life. Furthermore, the uneven number of scholars in every sphere will engender the problem of imbalance workforce ultimately. For example, there are no sufficient positions for many graduates from business or economics every year. As time goes by, it would result in the increase of unemployment when the supply outweighs its demand persistently. Besides that, another issue should be concerned is the shortage of scientific professionals. The scarcity of aspirants in the area of science can affect the development and sustainability of a country. Take a meteorologist as an example, without the consultation and prediction of the experts, it would be arduous for humans to prevent the potential damages which will be caused by the coming hurricane or thunderstorm. Therefore, lacking of scientific specialists would force us to face the human resources crisis sooner. In conclusion, the intensive schedule of the science subjects is the primary factor that students reject to study. Nevertheless, the inequality of professionals in each sphere would generate several negative effects on the society, especially, in scientific aspect. Hence, the government and publics should beware of this phenomenon as well as attempting to solve the problem by the proper measures.