Some people believe the purpose of education is to prepare people to be useful members for society. Others say that the purpose of education is to achieve personal ambitions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions differ regarding the reason why people are required to be educated is to make a great society through highly intelligent citizens or due to their personal achievements. In my perspective, I believe that the former has more reasonable explanations considering the results from the obligation of teaching the general public. On the one hand, there are two major reasons why some people insist that the reason of education is for individuals' ambitions. Primarily, it is undeniable that the measure of each person's success is closely associated with his or her academic achievement. It is highly likely that the majority of people who have profound careers had accomplished the high level of education. Secondly, to be recognized as a professional in a field, a degree from a university is considered a rudimentary requirement. Even if a person has decades of hand-on experience on a particular field, it would be difficult for him or her to earn a solid credit without academic achievement when it comes to expertise. On the other hand, the reasons for compulsory education are easily found considering the sakes of society. Firstly, the level of the knowledge of the general public is proportional to the measure of its country's development. For instance, what the most developed countries in the modern generation had done in the twentieth century is to obligate education for every citizen. It is because they knew that high intelligent workforces will be of great help in the improvement of nations. Secondly, by teaching people, society will obtain great benefits. Education helps people understand the meaning and importance of conducting citizens' fundamental duties such as paying taxes or voting for future leaders. In conclusion, even though it seems clear that why people need to be taught in terms of their successful careers, I personally think that the primary goal of education is related to making contributing member of society.