Some people believe that wild animals should not be kept in zoos or other man-made environments as there is no longer a need for them in the 21st century.

Some people tend to think that today there has been no point to keep wild animals in special man-made environments, such as zoos. However, I have an opposite attitude to this issue since such places are still needed for safety of wild species as well as for educational and research purposes of society. Zoos and other similar venues may be favourable as they help humanity save endangered animals whose natural habitats have been destroyed or dramatically limited due to different reasons including natural disasters and human activities. Realistically, if all zoos were closed, endangered animals would not be able to find appropriate environmental conditions in order to breed and bring up their offsprings. For this reason, disappearance of zoos would lead to extinction of these species. As well as being crucial for saving endangered animals, zoos may be useful places where adults and children might learn more about various living creatures. Realistically, there may be no place on the planet where there is an opportunity to encounter such variety of wild animals during one day. Another benefit of such venues for keeping animals is that they may be used by zoologists to carry out research. It may be especially helpful in the situations when expeditions to natural habitats of wild species are exorbitant for scientists or considered dangerous. To conclude, it can be clearly seen that man-made environments, such as zoos, for keeping wild animals have been remain necessary for saving endangered species as well as for education and research activities.