some people believe that we should take actions in protecting the environment. Some people say that we cannot do anything. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

The environment has become a major concern in modern life. We constantly face the issue of environmental problems which are becoming more serious nowadays. While some people say that we cannot do anything, I am still in favor of the argument that we should take actions in protecting the environment. On the one hand, there are some reasons why people think that we cannot do anything to protect the environment. The first reason is that there are some areas where each person’s efforts are in vain. For example, some factories release toxic gases into our air or dump dangerous materials in our rivers. Clearly, if we want to solve it individually, we cannot expect to prevent this from happening. Another major reason is that the rules that the government has introduced are not strict. For example, the government only encourages people not to use plastic bags, not completely prohibited, so people still use them quite a lot, especially in rural areas. This is very harmful to our environment. And to solve this issue, only the government can force. However, I subscribe to the view that we should take actions in protecting the environment. To begin with, if we change some small habits in our daily lives, we can eliminate the harmful causes to the environment. For example, we always can bring a recycling bag or paper bag while shopping so that usage of plastic bags will decrease. In addition, we must not throw garbage indiscriminately and throw trash bags into the river. Instead of, we should prepare bins in the house and plant more trees. Besides that, with nearby roads instead of riding motorcycles or driving cars, we can walk, bike or use public transport to reduce emissions to the environment. These will definitely help protect the environment. Thus, such actions from an individual could lead to a healthy environment. To conclude, while it is believed that there are two main reasons which we cannot do anything to protect the environment, I still hold a firm belief that we completely can take actions in protecting the environment.