Some people believe that we should knock down historical buildings to make way for more practical new builds.

As our cities get more overpopulated, there is an increasing sentiment that we should demolish older construction and replace them with contemporary ones. In this essay, I will agree with this point of view. Because this architecture can be more accessible, and because it can help us solve our housing crisis. First, replacing old construction can allow us to make buildings that are accessible for everyone. Because many old buildings are not built with the disabled crowd in mind, they do not have the facilities to be used by everyone. For example, some old architectures have lack elevators to allow people to get to every floor. While it is sometimes possible to adapt old buildings, this is not always the case and these adaptations can be impractical. Therefore, I consider this is a good idea to knock down the building in order to make a way for new ones. Furthermore, new architecture can help fix our housing crisis by allowing more communities to live there. In a process called ‘urbanisation’, the public is increasingly moving to cities which puts a drain on housing resources. By replacing old builds with new which can be high rise structures that can house far more folk, we can provide housing for more of the population. In addition, because this increases the supply of housing, this can help reduce average rents. Thus, demolishing old constructions is thought to have many benefits. In conclusion, replacing historical construction with new ones is both more accessible and offers more housing. As a result, I believe replacing them would be a good way to improve our cities