Nowadays online shopping is rapidly replacing physical shopping in stores. What are the positives and negatives of this development, in your opinion? Give some relevant examples.

In today's world, the trend of online shopping is increasing day by day. People prefer to shop online rather than visiting the retail outlet themselves. This trend can have benefits as well as major drawbacks. In my opinion, One advantage of online shopping is convenience and ease whereas, a crucial disadvantage is that it can be addictive. On one hand, online shopping is becoming a popular trend these days because it benefits the customers by making shopping easy and comfortable. Consumers can easily shop on any device or platform they like any time anywhere. Moreover, there are no additional costs, such as the cost of transportation or any hassle of moving from one retail outlet to another. Additionally, the products are even delivered to the desired location that the customer requests. For example, while I was engaged in writing a thesis for my master's degree, I did not have enough time to shop for an outfit that I wanted to wear for my presentation. As a result, I browsed the website of my favourite brand and instantly found a viable option, which was delivered right to my doorstep. On the contrary, one detrimental outcome of online shopping is that it is highly addictive. Customers usually in their free time end up surfing the websites of their most beloved brands. Even though this browsing might be just to pass time but still they end up buying products they do not need. As a result, both time and resources go to waste. For example, My friend wanted to buy clothes for her sister's wedding due to convenience she ended up buying a majority of the clothes online. But even after the wedding, in her leisure time or during breaks she was found visiting different clothing websites. She got so obsessed with buying clothes online that she become a debtor to most of our friends. In conclusion, I believe that while online shopping can be interesting in terms of simplicity of ordering and getting products delivered, it can be addictive and can result in financial loss.