Some people believe that watching television show is bad for children. Other people believe that watching television is educational for children. Which opinion do you agree with and why?

Television is rapidly gaining its popularity among youngsters. Some people consider that children should watch television as it is a source of education, whereas others tend to oppose this idea and believe watching television can have detrimental effects on the children. I firmly agree with the former statement but will discuss both viewpoints in detail. On the one side, people consider it is a good idea for children to watch television because it helps them to gain insight of the wildlife and technological Innovations. In other words, TV shows such as National Geography and BBC earth are solely designed to educate people about the life of rare animal and bird species on earth, which otherwise would be a hidden mystery. Thus, children who watch such programmes can help us saving natural flora and fauna. Likewise, Discovery channel broadcasts all about the latest technology gadgets and innovations, so that kids can make use of such tools in their normal life to make it better. Additionally, Television being a source of entertainment engages children to spend most of their time watching cartoons and comedy series, which is way better than sitting ideal. On the other hand, there are several reasons which make people feel that Television is bad for the children. Firstly, its excessive use can lead to several diseases. That is to say, the children, who is addicted to playing video games on TV, does not like outdoor games and therefore they spend most of their time in front of the screen, which eventually leads to problems like improper eyesight, weak immune system and obesity. Secondly, Children due to lack of judgement and age experience, show violent behaviour in real life, after watching action movies on TV. To exemplify, according to The Times, in 2018, a 17-year-old boy, killed his classmate for not helping him with the homework. On further investigation, the boy accepted that he was trying to imitate the scene of the movie The Enemy. To conclude, although watching television has bad effects on children’s health and mind. However, I believe the education and information learned from it is invaluable.