Some people believe that using animals to test the safety of human medicines is cruel and unwarranted, whereas others feel it is a medical necessity. Discuss both views and state vour own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

When a new drug or surgical technique is developed, society and medical experts consider it unethical to use that drug or technique first in human beings because of the possibility that it would cause harm rather than good. While many people believe that animal experimentations are to ensure the effectiveness of new treatments and some others opine that this act is inhuman and immoral. In this essay, I am going to examine both points of view and then give my own perspective on the matter. To begin with, the main reason why some people value animal experimentations to conduct medical research is because animal testing has contributed to many life-saving cures and treatments. It is a fact that nearly every medical breakthrough in the last 100 years has resulted directly from research using animals. For example, experiments in which dogs had their pancreas removed led to the discovery of insulin, critical to saving the lives of diabetic patients. Furthermore, it is impossible to release new drugs to the market before proving it has not harm to humans. In addition, many patients could lose their lives because of the wrong dosage prescribed by doctors which has not been tested before. However, many people argue that testing on animals is immoral and unacceptable. The lives of all creatures should be respected and we, humans, have no right to suffer animals for our own benefits. Government should invest in developing alternative methods that can replace using animal experimentations when doing medical research. For instance, a software program can be developed to model a human immune system and new drugs can be tested on the software rather than animals. In this way, no animals will suffer from pain and the society can still benefit from medical development. In conclusion, although it is undoubtedly true that animal testing has helped scientist in drug developments and medical discoveries. I tend to believe that the benefits to humans do not justify the sufferings caused to animals and we should use alternative methods when doing medical research that do not involve living animals.