Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

Instilling social commitment among young students is seen as a valuable lesson by many who suggest that youths should be required to do voluntary community service as part of their academic syllabus. Since making it compulsory would create an antipathy feeling among them and kill valuable study time, I opine against it. Glancing over the immense implications to youth student who would be forced to help the community members, clean the streets, help the elder and teach youngsters, many academics suggest that community service should not be mandatory. Why should we force them to something so early in life that might backfire? For instance, research suggests that many students hate doing homework but these same group of students love to finish the same amount of tasks when they are offered to do so in groups and are nor forced. If we truly want our children to become aware of the sense of community, we should inspire and motivate them to help others, not dictate them. This sense of being part of the community comes from the family, not from the hour of works they do in the open air. ‘When high school pupils engage in community service, they learn some soft skills like interaction, teamwork and time management’, argued by many who advocate the compulsory social service for the student. If this is the case, we need to think twice. If schools are not already teaching these skills to students in the classroom and school premises, we need to reform our education system, not add community service to the academic syllabus. While most schools struggle to finish the prescribed syllabus on time, they should not be burdened with more works. Afterschool work in the community kills time that students can use to study or play with others. To conclude, helping others in the community and building a sense of responsibility towards the community we live in are two excellent qualities. Teachers should not seize students in helping community members, rather prepare them for the future so that these qualities grow in them even more acutely.