Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children.)

There are often issues with understanding the vocabulary in this question, namely the ‘unpaid’, ‘community service’, ‘compulsory’ and ‘charity’ parts. ‘Unpaid’ is often paraphrased with ‘voluntary’ but this is not exactly the same and even contradicts the compulsory’ part of the question. ‘Voluntary’ means that one does the work without being paid but also chooses to do it because he wants to. ‘Compulsory’, on the other hand, means that the teenagers would not have any choice about doing the work; community service would be part of their high school duties as much as attending Maths classes is. Regarding ‘community service’, this is about doing work to benefit one’s community or whichever community a person is a part of. Doing work for ‘a charity’ relates to helping people regardless of where or who they are i. e. these people could be in another city or country. The ‘charity’ work given in the question is an example of community service and thus should not be the focus of the answer. If you would like more clarification about these key words of the question, please see the vocabulary list. Apart from this, I’ve noticed many students having difficulties with explaining their ideas in the body paragraphs. Often, they will be vague in their explanations or give benefits of doing community work which are not clearly unique to this type of work. For example, one might argue that the teenagers could learn how to work as part of a team from doing community service. This skill is not unique to this kind of work, however, and is something they would likely learn from school (while doing project-type activities for instance or playing sports). For this problem, I recommend using examples of real community service work and being specific. For instance, “if a teenager helps the elderly people in a retirement home, they will learn nursing skills. This is something they would likely not learn at school. ”