Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people why is this case? What can be done to attract more local people?

Historical places are only visited by tourists, while local people do not prefer to visit these sites. I, agree with this notion and some possible efforts can be done so, local residents can be attracted. Firstly, local people can visit these places any time. They take these places for granted because they think these places are not running away and they visit it some other day, moreover due to hectic schedule people do not have enough time to visit. Secondly, people get bored after watching same monument again and again. In particular, these sites are expensive to visit as, tickets are needed to get entry. However, to attract local people some development should be made, for example exhibition and new events can be organized, similarly school trips should help to attract school and university students. In addition, the cost of tickets can be reduced, beside this two days a week's should be free to visit only for natives. Hence, these possible measures can be done to attract local people. In conclusion, these are reasons like busy schedule, costly to visit and so on, but it can be solved by development, decreasing visiting cost and many more.