Some people believe that University students should be required to attend classes. Other believe that going to classes should be optional for students. Which point of view do you agree with? Write an essay of about 250-300 words to support your opinion.

Whether college students should be required to attend classes or not is a controversial issue. While somebody believes that university students ought to be required to attend lectures, other people think going to class should not be compulsory for pupils. Personally, I am better convinced of the latter view. For starters, I would state that attending lecture classes is not necessary for students. There are some reasons for this statement, one of them is that lecture classes usually take place in a large auditorium with a number of students. Therefore, there will hardly be any interaction between the instructor and the students, the lesson will be boring and not provide students with useful knowledge. But I think tutorial classes are fairly important because students can put their knowledge into practice and discover more realistic understanding, so the lesson’s quality will be considerably increased. Moreover, if students do not go to classes, they will have more time for other activities that benefit them significantly. For instance, a college student can take part in a club’s project or to work as an intern for a company that relates to his major in order that he could gain job experience and develop fundamental skills for his future occupation and because skills learned in life are more helpful than those learned at school when he graduates from university, he could find a career more easily than others who spend no time to hone their skills. However, we should also take into consideration the fact that most of the time we ought to pay a heavy price such as our sweat, tears, and failures to acquire skills in life. Though, I still stand by what I said that university students should be free to choose whether to attend classes or not. To sum up, although many people claim that attending university classes is essential for students, I strongly believe that students should not be required to attend every class at university if that class does not bring any advantage.