Some people believe that universities should only recruit young people with good school grades. Others believe that everyone should be given a chance regardless their age and school marks.

Nowadays, the school system is overly focused on grading. Some people argued that the colleges need to receive only students who had excellent transcript in high school, while others think they should give the opportunity for everyone. I do share the same view with the second group. On the one hand, the transcript-based recruitment will introduce the problems of grade inflation and incorrect assessment. For example, when the grades of lower-calibre students get inflated, it makes them appear similar to higher-calibre students. The problem is exacerbated by the tendency for different academic departments to exhibit different rates of grade inflation and the grades are no longer a good method of ranking performance to select qualified persons. On the other hand, standardized tests are the only thing that allows college admission professionals to control for wildly different average GPAs at different high schools. For example, if a student had a tough time in high school and ended up with a less-than-stellar transcript, a high test score could help to bolster that student’s application. But it is important to recognize that the reverse can happen, too. Students who perform well in the classroom might struggle with standardized testing. A student’s ability to learn and to process information over time is a better indicator of how they’ll fare in college, rather than something more fleeting, such as their standardized test-taking skills. Overall, the grading would increase the pressure on teachers to inflate their grades resulting to the unfair enrolment, meanwhile the standardized tests would be able to show an applicant’s aptitude for success in college. Although in some occasions, standardized tests only seem to underscore individual weaknesses of learners and promote an unhealthy culture of one-upping each other, it is still an effective way to assess the knowledge capability of people.