Some people believe that traveling abroad is essential to learn the culture of a nation while others believe that it is not necessary as one can learn via the internet and social media.

Many support the view that it is necessary to travel abroad to learn about other countries but others are of the idea that it is not required as one can acquire all the information on the TV and the internet. From my point of view, I believe that having a personal experience by visiting a land can help us imbibe a lot more about the nation's culture rather than just watching a documentary on it. According to many, including myself, visiting a country and seeing how the people interact with each other is the best way to get to know a nation's vibe. Here, one can directly experience and interact with locals. This kind of encounter will not be erased from our minds. Say, for instance, you visit Germany and just a simple practice like going to a grocery store will ignite your mind because it's a whole new environment, a different language and varied social norms. On the other hand, some believe that since it's the 21st century and we have all the information we need at our fingertips that there is no need to go to a country to learnt it's culture. One just has to do google search for getting even the most intricate detail on anything under the sun. I, personally, prefer not to be boxed into this type of thinking, as it just is not up to par with being in a different locale and having an intimate experience with the foreign country. For example, one wants to attend a traditional party in India and he can look up what kind of clothes to wear and buy one off the internet but it is not the same as buying one from the local shopkeepers in the streets of India, choosing from an array of hand-crafted dresses, feeling the fabric and then making it yours. To sum up, people have opposing views on the subject. I firmly believe that experiencing a nation's pulse on a first-hand basis is far more educating than learning from social media.