Discuss the career that you can want to follow and how have you been previously associated with it

INTRODUCTION Formulation of an interest in art in early stages of my life was an indication for me and everyone around that I would venture into a creative path sooner or later. It would give me immense joy in creating aesthetically pleasing things that would bring the moments of awe and wonder in others. Little did I knew then that this adoration for conception would lead me to places I would never otherwise have thought of. PHASE 1 - Bachelor Years and Life at college Taking forward this zeal of mine, I stepped into the art college, taking up Applied arts as my majors which was one of the most worth including, an innovative encounter that taught me a lot and in-depth about design. The undergrad years not only made me familiar with the terminology, concepts and know-how of the design field but also introduced me to several virtues and values of life and the exploration of several aspects in the design dimension, primarily the things that lie outside of the traditional approach. PHASE 2 - Job and real-world application (Appendix A) My professional journey began when I landed a job in a marketing startup, THE SOCIALITE, which dealt with the branding and advertising of several local and national brands. While working there as a graphic designer I understood the practical applications of design and how the market operates. Those insights into the pragmatic implications helped me learn how design shapes any brand and plays a vital role in its existence. Since it was a startup so I was forced to wear several hats, which at the time would agitate me but in the hindsight, it helped me grew my skills and my abilities to perform several tasks at once which aided me to garner expertise of not only the discipline of design but also of the marketing and dealing with people(clients). After working there for a year I shifted to another company name ELECTROVESE SOLUTIONS where I got acquainted with working in a complete professional setting. My time at Electrovese further enhanced my working and also introduced me to the UX and UI, UI in particular. This new direction was something I have been working on subconsciously but it had not come to the foreground. The idea of taking those design skills that I had learned until then and applying those to create products that you could see people interacting with really gave a sense of joy and an urge to learn more about this newly discovered stream but I was aware of the fact and also determined that I need to learn more about this field. PHASE 3 - Conestoga and life presently (Appendix B) The decision to study Interaction Design turned out to be really a life-altering one as not only did I get inducted into the field of UX/UI but also I learned, in abundance, about things which I never knew earlier. It opened me up to the avenues undiscovered before and things never experienced earlier. I learned to fail quickly and often and using the insights derived to work on things for better. Not only did I gained about the field of UX/UI, built connections but I also met people who I really admire now and have learned from them so many ethics like how to be calm in every situation, how to give and take critique and most importantly thinking out of the box, all of which is really crucial in becoming a UX/UI designer. Prior to joining this course, I had heard of the terms UX and UI but never really knew the meaning behind those terms. The most significant of the things that I learned and am still learning is the understanding of the problem sphere and not jumping to the solution straight away. Also, having an empathetic approach towards the problem you’re trying to solve is something that has, by now, embedded in me, which I believe is of paramount significance. PHASE 4 - The coming years and Life ahead All the experience assimilated in the last 7 months helped me score an internship at HOLESHOT1 Media, as a UX/UI designer and made me more determined to pursue this field further and fabricate a career for myself in the same. My plan of action ahead is to successfully complete this internship by providing value to the organization and learn more about the market framework of the field of UX. I also aim to secure a full-time position in the same company I have secured internship in and also simultaneously explore other possible opportunities out there. This would need me to work wholeheartedly with the process of learn, unlearn and relearn and I’m excited and motivated to do so.