News Covid-19 outbreak puts the poor in dire straits

Street vendor Le Thi Hong could not sleep as thoughts over numerous expenses bombarded her. Hong woke her child at 4 a. m. to get ready for a new day. The 38-year-old street vendor and her four-year-old daughter lives in a 12-square-meter rented room in Dong Nai Province near HCMC. The girl, still hungry for more sleep, shared a bowl of instant noodles with her mom. After the meager breakfast, Hong brought her daughter to an acquaintance who takes care of the child for VND60, 000 ($2. 54) a day before she hit the street in search of customers. She carried a basket of different tiny things like Q-tips, hair ties and key chains. Before the Lunar New Year festival, Sunday felt like payday to street vendors like Hong. "On Sundays, profits were around VND500, 000 ($21. 18), enough to feed me and my daughter and support my husband and our two kids back home, " said Hong, one of many migrant workers who left their families in northern or central Vietnam for a job in the middle of industrial and commercial centers in the south. The first two Covid-19 cases in Vietnam, two Chinese nationals, were reported at the start of the Lunar New Year holiday, on January 23. In the wake of the Covid-19 spread, restaurants are closed, factory workers are out of work, people receive decreased salaries and shop less. Street vendors like Hong receive nothing but ‘no's’ when trying to make a sale. Having no luck on busy streets, Hong entered small alleys to knock on people’s doors, but to no avail. "Give me some Q-tips you, " a man told Hong before grabbing a bag from her basket and walking away. "You forgot to pay, " Hong called after him, but the man paid no heed. It was near noon and her shirt was drenched in sweat. Hong had only VND80, 000 ($3. 39) in her pocket, not enough for the day's expenses. She took out a handkerchief and placed it on the back of her neck to alleviate the pressure of the string holding the basket she carried, and moved on to another alley. "I don’t have any rice field, fishing doesn’t earn much, I have three kids so I had to migrate to make a living. Now because of the disease, people shoo me away like a plague when they see me. If I go back to my hometown I won’t know what to do, " Hong said. She earns about VND100, 000 ($4. 23) a day, only a third of what she used to. Hong still buys her daughter milk and pays for her daycare. Their meal consisting of 100 gram of meat, an egg and vegetables costs VND40, 000. Her daughter usually gets the meat and egg, while Hong eats dried fish. A lot of neighbors had left Dong Nai and gone back to their hometown, but Hong remained reluctant until her husband pleaded with her. "You stay but can’t sell anything. We are together, hungry or full, " he told her on the phone as she wept. She packed light and told her landlord she would return after the outbreak is contained. The mother and daughter got on a bus heading to central Vietnam. She plans to buy and rear five chickens and plant vegetables to feed the family. "I wish the sea is calm so I could catch fish to eat, " she thought to herself on the ride home. While Hong headed home uncertain about her family's future, some of her street colleagues in HCMC now depend on donations to stay out of hunger. In their rented 10-square-meter room in Thanh Loc Ward, District 12, HCMC, Chau Ngoc Nu, 83, and her daughter Le Thi Kim Thanh, 48, both scrap collectors, waited gifts from a humanitarian agency.