Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual. crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Punishment should be there for each crime. This is the perspective of some people whereas, others think that every factor should be taken into consideration. However, I believe that the circumstances in which the crime has been committed is a crucial aspect and should be considered before deciding upon the punishment. The purpose of fixed punishment for each crime is to make people aware of the consequences. If the punishments are not foxes then the people might think that there will be a chance to escape. Moreover, the fear of punishment will also help in reducing the crime rate. The fixed punishments will create a wave of fear which will eventually reduce the crime rate. On the contrary, people think that all factors should be taken into consideration before deciding upon the punishment. Behind each crime, there has been a motivation which needs to be understood. E. g a person has murdered a neighbour because the person got to know that the neighbour was sexually abusing his child whereas, in another murder case, the motif behind is money. The crime is the same but the motif is different. One person has committed the crime in anger or for revenge on the other hand, the murderer just wanted money. Considering motivation behind each crime is essential. Moreover, the circumstances in which the crime is committed is of vital importance. E. g snatchers came inside a shop and asked for money, the shopkeeper had a licensed pistol, to save from the loss, the shopkeeper shot at one of the snatchers but mistakenly the bullet went through the chest. The snatchers diedwhile being taken to a hospital. Although, there was no motivation but circumstances made the person commit the heinous crime. To punish a person who committed a crime unintentionally the same as the serial criminal is not justified. To conclude, I want to say that motivation and circumstances are two important factors which should not be neglected. Moreover, they should make an integral part in deciding the punishment.