Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

It is a debatable issue that some people consider punishing wrongdoers in the same way for identical crimes, while others put forward the idea that the causes what motivated culprits to commit a crime have to be taken into consideration before reaching a verdict. In court, prosecutor should consider how the sentence will impact on society overall. It may be an effective way to alleviate crime by implementing a fixed policy of zero tolerance for identical misdeeds applying the same amount of fines or serving a prison sentence for fixed years. The application of this policy might keep citizens away from taking actions against the law, since they are already aware of heavy sentences ahead of them. However, one of the drawbacks of imposing the same punishments on offenders is that losing sight of frequent tendency and reasons of committing crimes by culprits. In most cases, this can result in contesting the verdict. In order not to encounter like these intolerable situations in court, all issues related to crime should be discussed in-depth by taking into account the crime history of offenders and the main reasons why they committed it. For example, two wrongdoers who committed murder have been sentenced to capital punishment. But, one of them deliberately did it for personal enmity and the other who was a law-abiding citizen committed murder to protect himself unintentionally. Is it fair to impose a fixed heavy punishment in this situation? It would be better to give a non-custodial sentence and moral instructions to the latter. In conclusion, although there are benefits to implementing predetermined retribution for one type of crime, I feel that the court should take strong measures to be fair on crime when deciding on the punishment.