Employers sometime ask people applying for for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interest, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. others disagree

In today's world where there is an immense competition, seeking a a job itself is a big milestone of everyone life's, because of which big Corporate seek every type of information of information from the candidate, which sometime leads to the suspicious nature for the firm in mind of candidate. In a very recent survey conducted by the distinguish University XYZ on the big four firms personal information questions such as martial status, hobbies and area of interest found very relevant in judging the candidate skills and capabilities of performing the task. For e. g. if a person is having a interests in history and travelling then the statics shows he/she is most desirable seeker for the tourism industry. Although it's martial status also matter as it's require lot of travelling domestically and even international. However, there is a paradox for the above situation, where organization who took this information could be judge-mental on the deserving person, even if he/she is more qualified for the job and there are some situation where firm asked for irrelevant information like what is the candidate father occupation? , if mother is housewife/Working? , How many siblings are there in the family? . A couple of months before, when I went through the similar experience. In the application form, in personal information section, a question sound like how much is your family earning. And that's make me little un-comfortable as I feel that the question was irrelevant for that Job profile. Based on the above information and example, I feel information which only link to the candidate alone is relevant as it's help organization to explore the person, but seeking family detail's should be avoided as it's make person uncomfortable and harassed because all of us are not from the same background.