Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others However, argue that circumstances of an individual crime and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account.

Fixed punishment for different kind of crimes has become a debatable topic among citizens and legislators. While many people believe that criminals should be given the same penalty for all crimes, others argue that various circumstances and multiple motivations should be taken in consideration when assign a sentence. This essay will discuss both views in depth and why I completely disagree with similar punishment. There are enormous reasons to reject this proposition. First, although committing a crime is considered as a heinous behaviour that who committed should be given a considerable punishment, I believe that each crime has its conditions, background as well as different motivations that induce offenders to execute a certain action. Thus, the law books differentiate between crimes and punishments. For example, an individual, who defended himself from an armed thief and accidentally killed him should not be sentenced as a husband who killed his wife with full intention. Secondly, it is not fair to punish children, who in many cases are not aware of their actions as adults. In short, judgments must review all of these factors and take them into account before the verdict announcement. In the other hand, some of the beliefs encourage a fixed punishment system in order to obtain equality and to minimize discrimination among diverse groups. For instance, this method can ensure justice and equal rights for both black and white criminals in the USA. Moreover, by selecting this model of punishment, the judicial system efficiency will certainly increase due to the declined efforts of reviewing cases. In other words, adapting this way of retribution will not only protect equality principles, but also will provide a realistic solution to the court’s burden. In conclusion, this essay discussed the advantages and disadvantages of fixed punishment for each type of crime. While there are several benefits of this system, I strongly believe that examination each crime’s circumstance and motivation is crucial to determine penalization.