Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discussion both these views and give your opinion

While some are of the opinion that there ought to be a fixed punishment for any kind of crime, others believe that before making decisions for an offence committed, the motives as well as the situations of the person involved should be taken into consideration. Analysing both sides of the arguments, I believe that before agreeing to a consensus, motivations and reasons for committing vices should be taken into account. On one hand, proponents in support of fixed punishment should be attributed to any form of crime because it will drive people away from such act. In other words, no matter the level of crime committed, there will always be a constant judgement attached to it. For example, an individual caught as a result of either stealing from the parents or robbing a bank(financial institution) will attract the same penalty. This will make individuals to derelict from involving in crimes at tender age. Thus, each type of criminal act committed should go along with a punishment that is not variable. On the other hand, it is also argued by many that the conditions and zeal to involve in bad things should be considered. First and foremost, the verdict to be passed will be decided on unlike having a capital punishment for any crime. Criminal offence can be carried out either intentionally or accidentally. Take an example, there is difference when it comes to applying defensive mechanism in a shooting scene against the antagonists and assassination of innocent citizens during a gun battle. If any form of punishment is to be allocated for both, the later will face a more serious penalty than the former. So therefore, every crime decisions to be made should bring put into account circumstances and motivations behind it. To conclude, it is argued that capital punishment by death should be passed for each type of criminal act, I think that it is to be decided upon the reasons and circumstances for such act to be commited. If these measures are implemented, crimes will be based on its severity.