Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for all types of crime. Others feel that the circumstances of an offence should be taken into account when deciding on a punishment

Our system of official rules is being improved in a great effort to limit the number of offenders. However, could a fixed punishment helps to reduce those who commit all types of crime? While, some are in agreement, I strongly do not feel the same way One the one hand, it could be argued that having a fixed punishment for each crime is an effective way to reduce a number of offenders in certain respects. Those who support a fixed punishment say that the great benefit of it is its simplicity. The fixed punishment makes it easier for residents to be aware of the legal system. When people are able to exactly understand a dangerous level of their action as well as a sentence they have to accept, this would act as deterrent for embarking on a life of crime and tackling rising crime. An illustration of this is that the Singapore Government gives those who drop litter in public places a heavy fine under any circumstances. This method truly work when Singapore becomes one of the cleanest and greenest countries in the world. However, I feel that a fixed punishment is only suitable for minor illegalities and I hold the opinion that the court should consider the degree of each crime before reaching a decision on the sentence. For example, with those who are found guilty of killing a person, the judge need to take mitigating circumstances into consideration to determine that he or she commits murder or manslaughter. Obviously, if he or she tentionally kills a person, the government must take strong measures to be tough on crime. On the contrary, if that is only an unintentional motive, the lighter punishment should be imposed. I believe that people deserve a second chance and considering a criminal’s motivation certainly make a great contribution to make our legal system become fairer and more effective. When citizens have a firm belief in the correctness and humanitarian of the law, surely they enforce the law seriously To sum up, although it is undeniable that a fixed punishment is appropriate for minor crimes, it do not ensure the accuracy and humanitarian in all circumstances. Therefore, I side with those who believe that the court should take a right penalty into account for each offence