Some people believe that the young should follow the traditional customs of their culture. Others think that they have the freedom to act and behave however they see fit.

It has been a debated issue whether youngsters should continue to uphold the traditional norms or have freedom to live how they want. From my perspective, I am balanced with these ideas as both side have its merits The opinion that the young should follow the traditions and customs stands to reason. Initially, it is advantageous to follow the traditional customs as they educate the young to have appropriate manners and morals. These customs create a framework which guides behaviors, thoughts and decisions in life. For instance, the value of bowing to seniors shows that people are well-educated because of their respect for others and their culture as well. Moreover, social norms ensure the cohesion of a society and bring a sense of unity and order. Without the moral guidance and standards of traditional values, chaos will arise in society due to a variety of conflicts or, morally-depraved behaviours. Finally, the young have the responsibility to uphold and preserve traditional customs as these are the essence accumulated for thousands of years by their ancestors and previous generations. Therefore, youngsters should show respect to culture and ancestors to avoid the loss of cultural erosion. However, there is a contrasting point of view that individuals should have rights to do what they want. First of all, the old traditions of cultures sometimes might restrict the growth of the young people due to their backward-thinking ways. Therefore, they can not make use of their youth and energy to flourish their own new generations. The women’s role is an example to explain why sometimes the old traditions limit the young. Instead of being financially dependent and gaining a sense of achievement, they are expected to fulfill the household chores and have no voice in the family since the majority of traditional norms consider men to be superior. Second, some customs that are depraved should be removed because they are not suitable with the values of modern society in the context of integration and globalization and the 4. 0 era. This modern society tends to encourage more platforms for youngsters to present more radical ideas and create progressive practices thanks to their forward-thinking ways. Both sides examined, I find it hard to completely agree or disagree with either of them. In my opinion, the young should be selective in choosing both the traditional customs and progressive ideologies that they want to live by.