Some people believe that the society must ban violent and pornographic scenes from being broadcast on TV, while others believe in order to have an open society, the law of censorship must be totally abolished. What is your opinion? Use specific reasons o support your point of view.

Censorship is widely practiced all over the world, as it is supposed to protect people against the harm caused by the violent and pornographic scenes broadcast on TV; however, in my opinion probably the most obvious example of intolerance in our society today is the existence of censorship. First, I have yet to encounter a valid argument for any form of censorship. Such arguments as are presented invariably take the form of concern for the well-being of others, children frequently being the alleged victims quoted. The arguments are specious and shallow and constitute nothing more than the imposition of one group’s morality on another. Furthermore, as it stands, the current position is farcical. A small group of officials, comprising customs clerks, policemen and arbitrarily-appointed members of various tribunals, are, to take one example, apparently deemed by law to be invulnerable to those supposedly corrupting influences of pornography and violence. However, should these people retire or change their employment, they suddenly join the masses becoming corruptible like the rest of us and must now be protected However, I much acknowledge that the violence and pornography shown on TV may inflict some harm on the youth and teenagers in our society. It may increase the rate of sex crime or violence in our community. I believe the harmful effects of these scenes can never be denied. In conclusion, censorship is an all or nothing situation and even if proof can be made of harm to some through the absence of censorship, it is a price well worth paying to ensure an open society in which each of us determines our own behaviour.