Multiculturalism is a recent phenomenon. While many people would like to live in a multicultural society others prefer to live in a society with their own culture and disrespect people from other nation. With which opinion do you agree? Use specific reasons to support your opinion.

Racism is a certain kind of prejudice, based on faulty reasoning and inflexible generalizations toward a specific group. Fortunately, through multiculturalism people recognize the diversity of cultures and their bias against a certain race is removed. In multicultural societies all those individuals have their own culture, religion, morals and standards. Humans are not perfect species; we all have our flaws. Human’s greatest flaw is fear. Humans fear everything that is unfamiliar and strange to them such as foreigners and their cultures. In multicultural societies that fear is automatically eliminated as a result of familiarization with the “stranger”. In addition, it provides people with the opportunity of understanding and accepting one another. People usually try to change a culture or a religion to fit their own views, instead of accepting it and its diversity. Accepting the individuality and diversity of people and their customs indicates that they are equal in your eyes and that forms respect. In many ways humans are equal because they all have the same necessities and they all get hurt the same way. Once we accept someone’s religion and nationality we accept them as human beings. Furthermore, there is an advantage in living in a country that contains a variety of cultures. People get a “taste” of each culture, thus gain a greater understanding of its customs and history. For that matter, people living in a multicultural country are endowed with extraordinary powers of knowledge. As a great man once said “Knowledge is Power”. Countries with multicultural societies have the power to revolutionize the world and create unity and diversity at the same time. In summation, in order to reduce racism multiculturalism is a necessity. As a result of multiculturalism fear of the unknown is eliminated and instead of it respect and understanding for one another steps in.