Some people believe that the problem of illegal drugs can be solved by just legalizing all drugs. with this?

Some people are calling into question the efficacy of stringent rules and regulations for drug abuse, asserting that the rampant issue of this highly addictive substance would be resolved if its consumption is made legal. However, I completely disagree with the given statement. The main reason for my assertion is that this government initiative would make drugs easily accessible for all. In other words, once legalized, they may be commonplace which means even drugstores would be likely to offer them to the general public. This in turn would undoubtedly put many people’s health and well-being in jeopardy since they can find every permutation of them on display and easily available. Take teenagers, who are instinctively drawn to anything harmful, for example. Having unlimited access to something that can potentially kill them by a massive overdose would whet their appetite. Moreover, it is believed that what keeps our pernicious tendencies at bay is the fear of openly violating social norms. That is to say, decriminalizing drugs would certainly remove the stigma previously attached to its addiction and use. As a result, more and more people might feel comfortable using them which may lead to chemical dependency. This is amply illustrated by alcoholism. Since excess drinking and intoxication are socially frowned upon, the vast majority of people always make an effort to appear sober in public and avoid drinking excessively. To conclude, I would like to reiterate that lifting present restrictions on drugs would do more harm than good. This is mostly because having limited access to anything damaging as well as restrictive social norms can act as a deterrent for an overwhelming majority.