Shopping has become a favourite pastime for many young people. Why is this the case? Should they be encouraged to spend their free time in a better way?

Recently, shopping has turned into a vital part of the lifestyle of younger generation. While there are many reasons attributed to this habit such as increased spending power and marketing influences. There is an opinion that they should be inspired to spend their time wisely in other useful activities and I completely agree with this point of view. On one hand, the increased spending power is one of the main reasons for this trend in the society. Compared to the past, there are many well-paid job opportunities available in the market. To illustrate, young people now have plenty of income they don’t know how to spend, therefore they are attracted to go shopping as a hobby. Secondly, they are easily getting influenced by marketing and advertisement for new products and services which create the desire to purchase more items unnecessarily. For instance, a recent survey on Shopping Malls business, indicates that majority of their sales are coming from younger people who had just started their career. In addition to this, the adolescent has to be enthused to spend their unoccupied time in more beneficial ways. Instead of spending time in shopping malls, encouraging them to involve in physical activities such as sports and workout exercises could help them to obtain a healthier life. Another point that they can join a course that enhances their skill sets. For example, those in the software field can spend their time in learning Artificial Intelligence which is growing very fast in the market nowadays. In conclusion, while it is true that younger population are paying attention towards regular shopping, they should be motivated to utilizes their off-time more sensibly.