As countries developed, more people can afford to buy cars. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, it is well known that people became more capable to own cars. This phenomenon has some benefits. However, many drawbacks should be considered. In my opinion, the disadvantages of this trend are greater than its advantages. To begin with, the personal car is considered as an easier and faster way than other transports. In other words, People can start their trip from their own doorstep avoiding being obligated to specific timetables or fixed routes. For instance, a recent study revealed that individuals could save 50% of their time if they used their own cars rather than public transportation. Another reason is that private cars are giving more freedom to the driver and other passengers. For example, the driver can choose to listen to music, speak freely to his family, and decide when to stop. consequently, the driver will feel free while driving his own car. On the other hand, the continues increasing in the car numbers has a negative impact on the traffic. In other words, the private cars usually carrying less passengers. Although, they occupy more spaces on the road, which is increasing the possibilities of causing traffic jams. To illustrate, a study found a strong link between the traffic congestion issues and the enormous numbers of registered private vehicles. In addition to that, the growing of the private car numbers has a major effect on the environment. A good illustration to this idea, a research showed that the air pollution level has increased by 40% in the last 10 years mainly due to the carbon dioxide emissions from cars exhausters. Therefore, it just shows how serious this could impact on the environment. In conclusion, being affordable to buy a car has some advantages. However, it cannot be compared with the major negatives of this trend, and its serious consequences.