Some people believe that the only value of films is to entertain. Others say that films should have educational values

There have always been considerable discussions in terms of the influence of films on people. It is argued by some that the only purpose of the films is for entertainment, I believe that films also bear in itself educational values. There are several reasons why people hold the view that films can only be used for entertaining. Firstly, many people consider watching movies as a recreational activity. For example, on the weekend many family members gather together and watch some comedies. This is a good way to unwind after a hectic week of working, In additional this also provide a sense of intimacy for all the members. Secondly, there are a variety of movie genres and most of which are used for entertaining purpose such as comedy, sci-fi, and so on. Despite those arguments described above, I believe that there do exist films that help broadening the knowledge of the audiences on a certain field. This is perfectly exemplified by the movies based on the real past events. These films used the materials in the past and depict the history event specifically to the audiences. Normally history is often considered as a boring subject and student easily get drowsy during the course. However, movies about the past intrigues youngster and makes them become more curious about how the ancestor fought to claim the independence for their country from the foreign invaders. In conclusion, different views are held that films are only used for entertainment, I believe that movies also have a significant value on educational purposes.