Nowadays many people have access to computers and a large number of children enjoy playing video games. What are the advantages and disadvantages of playing video games for children?

These days more and more people have access to the internet and, as a result, there is a fast-rising number of children enjoying playing computer games. That is why computer games became so popular. This essay will discuss the positive aspects of these games and also the negative effects. First of all, computer games are one of the best ways for children to reduce stress and relax. Secondly, as education is becoming more demanding and hard for many young people, these games allow them to temporarily escape from pressure which helps to reduce anxiety. Furthermore, computer games even can develop thinking and problem-solving skills for children which are very useful in real life. The reason is that many games nowadays have become complicated to the extent that it is required to make an effort in learning strategies and finding new ones in order to become better. But on the other hand, there are also a lot of disadvantages. For instance, many children become too addicted to them and they play for hours forgetting about the outside world. In South Korea, the government has banned children from playing after midnight because the effect on education was very negative. In our days many computer games contain violence and, as a consequence, this has led to a growth of the number of crimes inspired by them. To conclude, there are both positive and negative sides of video games. That is why it is very important for children to choose suitable games.