Some people believe that the only purpose of films is entertainment. Others say films have educational value. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experiences.

From romance and comedy to horror and action, movies from different genres have been entertaining us for many decades. We all love going to the theatre to watch our favourite comedy star or action star. Without movies, life would definitely become dull as the story-telling power a movie holds, is quite strong. The transition that has taken place from black-white to coloured cinema with other technological advancements, has added a moral obligation on filmmakers to come up with subjects that not only entertain but also give life-long lessons. I personally believe that not every movie would have a moral or a message that a fan can take away while exiting the theatre. As for many people, cinema is their favourite escape. For instance, after a hard day's work, I would love to watch a comedy movie like 'The Mask' which helps me relax and makes me laugh. But if I am in the mood for a movie that inspires me, teaches me not to give up in life, I would watch Silvester Stallone's 'Rocky'. There are different types of filmmakers who make films keeping various audiences in mind. Though it's hard to please everyone, but 'Forest Gump' is one such movie that is loved by all, ranging from a child to a grandfather. The movie shows true friendship, never-ending love, the beautiful bond between a mother and son also at the same time delivers the lesson that anyone can achieve anything in life just by putting their heart into it.